New Guitar Day!! Mosrite of Japan, ash body....

olofz

New Guitar Day!! Mosrite of Japan, ash body....

Postby olofz » Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:32 pm

Hola Mosrite gurus! I'm basking in the glory of a new (old) Japanese Mosrite (clone) - my 1st ever. WOW. I should have got one of these puppies years ago. I read and read and read into the history of Mosrite & particularly MIJ clones just prior to purchasing this guitar, as I'm a total Mosrite noob. I am only slightly more educated after reading the many confusing & contradictory statements on the web.

As far as I can tell - and please correct me of I'm wrong - what I have here is a Mosrite of Japan, ash-bodied "Ventures" model clone from the 70s. It was sold to me as a Firstman... but Tym guitars, who sold it to the guy I bought from, assures me that it isn't. Whatever it is, it sounds amazing and it plays beautifully. I have no idea how close it is to the real thing, but I checked it out before buying and was truly blown away by the quality and playabilty of this guitar. What a growly hot little number!!!! I was a little scared by the talk of tiny slim little necks, but turns out there's no issue there at all. Very comfy. All it needed was a little tweak to the string height (higher) and it is perfection.

Anyhow, I'm pretty much obsessed now. I may need to sell my les paul historic R8 & 1965 mustang & start looking at the real thing.... :D But for now, I am gonna play the heck outta this thing. It just loves fuzz!

Crappy pics here if you're interested:

By olofz at 2012-06-12

olrocknroller
Top Producer

Re: New Guitar Day!! Mosrite of Japan, ash body....

Postby olrocknroller » Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:39 am