Ventures II Slab Body Build

SouthernVersion

Ventures II Slab Body Build

Postby SouthernVersion » Sun Sep 05, 2021 12:15 am

Hello all,

I’ve been wanting to build my own Ventures II Slab for awhile now. While I do technically have a Ventures II Slab replica (an Eastwood Mach II / JR. Elite) I want one that’s a little more accurate.

My first build was a bass kit that was considered “advanced”. Which involved me sketching and cutting out my own body shape and headstock, I found that to be fairly easy. So I can say I’ve built a bass before. But now I want to build my own Ventures II from scratch.

I’m going to start with a neck, assuming I can get the hardest part of the project done then I know I can finish the rest. I ordered a maple neck blank and an Indian rosewood fretboard blank from Stewmac. Two very beautiful pieces of wood. I started drawing out the Mosrite headstock (starting with the outline of the Eastwood headstock) as well as the neck, and fretboard. (Photos will be added)

As I can’t start cutting anything out yet because I’m still waiting for the truss rod (which has to be added to the drawing of the neck) as well as some other tools, I decided to tackle the next difficult part. The Ventures II tremolo system. While it’s not a complex design, not having one in front of me to copy is a bit difficult. So using my Eastwood body (with hallmark pickups in it, thanks bob) I was able to design my own Ventures II tremolo system. The design is a “draft” as I’ve already found something I may need to change.

I’ll leave a link to Dropbox where all the photos are. I hope it works, if not let me know!

Anyways, I’ll keep posting as I continue on with this project. Let me know your thoughts!

Dropbox link: https://www.dropbox.com/t/Wa5vy7Yqch3FNMCv
1966 Mosrite The Ventures Mark V (B1027)
1966 Inter-mark Cipher Ranger
1970's Encore Short Scale Bass
1970's Hondo II (Les Paul Copy)
2016 Eastwood Mach II (JR. Elite) w/ Hallmark Pickups